Protein packed Cinnamon Vanilla Waffles

C and I love working out. Not too long ago, I was first introduced into the world of protein supplements – all thanks to the fact that C is naturally lanky and was blessed with an endomorph body type (although he’d very much prefer a larger build!) – mainly protein powder and protein bars.

Protein powder and I did not get along very well at all initially. The bars I could deal with – the good ones tasted like chocolate bars anyway – and all the better if they were healthier. But the powder…some tasted horribly artificial, some were too sweet, some were too bland, and some were bitter! I tried mixing my coffee in, adding fruits etc etc thinking that my love for both coffee and fruit would help mask the taste of the protein powder but I failed, spectacularly.

While over the past year, protein powder and I have made peace (mainly because I now have found the brands that bring the best tasting flavours (for me!), through my struggle with it, I have also found a way to bring them into baking and making breakfast goods that are good for the waist and good for the muscles.

img_20161224_093953

 

While over the past year, protein powder and I have made peace (mainly because I now have found the brands that bring the best tasting flavours (for me!), through my struggle with it, I have also found a way to bring them into baking and making breakfast goods that are good for the waist and good for the muscles.

I’m not sure how we managed to get home after that intense leg session today, thankfully my upper body still had strength to whisk up some easy, protein packed waffles for some post workout nosh.

Protein packed Cinnamon Vanilla Waffles with Greek Yogurt

Ingredients

1/2 cup Optimum Nutrition Whey Protein in Vanilla Ice cream (Roughly about 15g)
1/2 cup plain flour
1/2 cup coconut flour (I used Bob’s Redmill Organic High Fiber Coconut Flour)
1 egg
1/4 cup cinnamon
enough unsweetened almond milk to mix the batter
2 drops vanilla essence
1 tsp sugar, or sweetener of choice (I decided the protein powder was sweet enough for me so this was omitted!)

Preheat waffle maker and spritz with some olive oil
Mix all the ingredients into a bowl uniformly
Pour onto waffle maker and cook for about 2-3 minutes
Top with a dollop of non fat greek yogurt (I used Mundella 99.7% Fat Free Greek Yogurt)
Sprinkle with some icing sugar (I used splenda) and ground cinnamon

ENJOY!

 

Leave a Reply

