Breakfast of champions

Breakfast is such an important meal. For the longest time, I had really poor eating habits. I skipped breakfast because I often did not feel hungry in the mornings and then I would proceed to eat everything in sight after lunch when hunger strikes. Since making it a must to sit down for a good breakfast since a year ago, I have found that I ate better, and chose healthier options throughout the day, and I feel energised and happy.

I work out hard every morning so I find myself craving whole foods filled with good protein right after. Today was no different and I had a craving for simple, sunny side ups which totally hit the spot!

Sunny Side Up Eggs with Cherry Tomatoes and Fresh Basil Leaves

img_20161223_093430_920

Together with a lovely cup of french vanilla coffee, I am now feeling full, nourished and satisfied.

Ingredients:
3 free range eggs
Few cherry tomatoes, halved
Fresh basil leaves

How we made it:
Spritz a non stick frying pan with some olive oil
Once the pan is hot, turn down heat a notch and crack eggs into pan
Cook on medium low heat until the egg whites are opaque and the yolk just slightly jelly-like.
Turn off heat and allow eggs to sit in pan away from heat for a minute.
Add halved tomatoes and fresh basil onto cooked eggs.
The residual heat will wilt the basil leaves just a touch without drying them up completely.

Crack black pepper and sea salt over the eggs and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

